Inspiration

No Dragonflies were hurt in the process of this date…

Earlier this month after having published my last post, WordPress popped up with a congratulatory salutation and a quote by Anais Nin. It read, “My ideas usually come not at my desk writing but in the midst of living.” I immediately wrote the quote down because as you know, this is typically the inspiration for my blog. I rely on my own experiences for literary fodder.

Hopefully, after reading the above quote and the following explanation, you can forgive my slight absence and hiatus from Diary of a Quirky Girl. This last month seems to have felt like four for me. Each week seeming longer than the last and like each one was a month in of itself. This month was jam-packed full of adventure, stories, and relating to another based on our life experiences and talents.

The month began like most months for a single, quirky, hopeless romantic female who just wants someone to understand her and find her snort laugh endearing. Unbeknownst to said quirky female, she didn’t know what the following month would have in store for her. She didn’t realize she wanted more than just someone; anyone, to find her window shattering cackle funny, but wanted someone who understood her past, her pain, where she had been and more importantly; where she was going and the positivity she wanted to bring into the world.

It all started with a shopping trip for a bachelorette party, a text conversation with a best friend in St. Louis followed by a Facebook friend request to someone like myself, who had been searching for something very real.

The ONLY downside to finding something very real, is putting yourself out there, with the possibility of making a fool of yourself, and hoping the other person accepts you as you…and stepping in goose poop. Actually the first part of that sentence isn’t really a downside, and actually when you’re in the process of getting to know someone, it helps you to find out who they really are in response to your idiosyncrasies and quirks.

Luckily for me, this person wanted to join me in exploring quirks like (in no particular order):

Contemplating the idea of scaring a sleeping old man dressed like someone out of a barbershop quartet with a straw hat over his face, on the sun porch of his beautiful home.

Waving at small children you don’t know.

Talking with your hands while forgetting you have a cup of coffee in one of them and thus spilling it everywhere.

Getting lost after having just left the coffee place you came from on foot.

Going to an incredibly funny play, laughing hysterically at the witty banter and slapstick humor and getting to sit uncomfortably close to one of the actors in the balcony as part of their “schtick”.

Trying real Sushi for the first time…and enjoying it.

Wearing dress clothes and pretending to be the next American Ninja Warrior on a jungle gym in the middle of the town you both decided to meet in.

Seeing a flock of geese from the car after having taken off your heels and dress shoes, running like crazy towards them screaming like a wild person and accidentally stepping in goose poop. Meanwhile a woman in a burka smiles after she had just fed said geese.

Scaring every frog and dragonfly in the process of chasing aforementioned geese.

Getting lost AGAIN while trying to find the darn hole in the wall coffee-house you left for the jungle gym and getting sidetracked by geese as a side product.

These are just a handful of things that happened on our first date. As you can see, after that first date, this is why the two weeks that followed felt like two whole months, not only for me, but for the quirky partner in crime that joined me on that adventure as well. In the weeks after, we were still following up with each other, wanting to know more about the other, what inspires them, and encouraging the other to be crazy and creative, which is something we seem to be best at and are even better at being both when we’re together.

Literally I can not do justice in words with the fun experience we had on our first date, it was one of those things where, “you had to be there”.

The quirky partner I just mentioned, also surprised me by being available to come down for the weekend to briefly meet my parents, and go out and commit more random acts of foolishness and kindness towards informative children at a bowling alley. Secretly I think the children were computer programming geniuses crammed into a 7-year-old body trying to con us out of more tickets to get the whoopee cushion they were saving up for but that is another story for another time.

Let’s just say, this person, these times we’ve been spending together, is the creative push I’ve needed to make something of myself. As a side note, yes, my family and friends are very encouraging, but it’s very different coming from someone who has the same goals in life as you and you share the common bond of being the oddball and black sheep. Seeing and knowing what he does creatively, artistically and in a literary sense, makes me want to be better, and not just be better at my talent, but be a better version of myself. His creative and life nudge said to me, “Hey, if I can do it, you can too, why are you letting your past hold you back?”

Knowing your potential, and seeing it in someone else, and knowing you can be something bigger and better than you are, is the best personal gift he’s given me. (Next to the art piece he made for me to wear in my hair and the Superman cape he thought to win for me while he was with his family at Six Flags…)

So to my fellow readers and writers out there, I apologize again for the absence. I had to be away from my keyboard to get back to living, feel alive, stoke the fire of creativity, and come back to write with a basketful of inspiration. Thank you for being patient with me and soon you will be reading about the effect this relationship is having on my art career and other areas of my life. Again, words fail me at the moment but that is the artist in me talking. Sometimes it takes me a while to calm down and let the feelings process into words in the left lobe of my brain; rattle and ricochet around and then spew out like water from a faucet where the handles have been broken off and there is no plumber around to fix it.  In that instance that is when I figure I may as well play and jump in the puddles created from this beautiful chaos of the creative process. At least, for the time being that is the best way I can describe it.

What or who inspires you? Who has inspired you to be creatively better than you imagined? When have you had an awakening to your potential?

22 thoughts on “Inspiration

    • Thank you legionwriter! What is the biggest little thing you’ve done and noticed having an impact on your children? It’s such a great feeling when you know you’re making a difference or putting something positive out there! Thanks for taking the time to read!

      • “Biggest little thing” – showing up. For anything. If I show up to a stupid little preschool gathering for dad’s or a teeball game. To them (for this little while), it’s like Superman came to visit. And it’s rare these days.

      • P.S. And, you know what? That is a good thing…to have an effect like that on you, you know every word on this end is coming across to you true, earnest and heartfelt. You ARE something to not only write home about, but to share with the rest of the world. 😀 It was just too hard to keep something like this in and not want to share it with everyone else!!! 😛

      • I totally agree! I may even write a not-so-cryptic blog entry in honor of my Lady Dragonfly! I feel so lucky to have found my Long Cool Woman In A Black Dress, and even luckier that she cares so much about me much less gives a bastard like me the time of day!

  1. Congrats on the new inspiration and passing along the quest to have fun and laugh at much!!! I am inspired by silliness and the reminder not to take myself so seriously!! Love it!! (By the way…lily pads are my favorite “flower” so I just HAD to read your post!!)

    • Oh wow! So glad you love lily pads too!!! That picture was taken of my parent’s pond in the back yard!!! Thank you so much for your words, I agree silliness should be a way of life, and definitely love that you find it as a reminder to not take yourself so seriously!!! AND I LOVE YOU USE MULTIPLE EXCLAMATION POINTS TOO!!! Thank you for stopping by to read about “inspiration”!!! (He leaves me in awe!!!)

      • I just saw this now. That is pathetic, but it still made me smile!!! I think someone should trademark multiple exclamation points…just cuz…how can you actually express your enthusiasm with just one…hee hee…

      • I agree…let’s trademark multiple exclamation points!!! You cN’t possibly show enthusiasm without them, and I’d you typed in all caps, people would think you have a voice modulation issue? Maybe? 😉 Ha ha ha!!!

    • Thank you so much!!! It’s very hard to express everything going on in the heart and mind and put it all into one post! Thank you so much for sharing in this happiness and for continuing to read here!!! 😀

  2. This reminds me of the date that I went on back when she’s all that was in theaters. Good movie, and love the soundtrack, but unfortunately it didn’t involve goose poop, nor a warming experience.

    Congratulations. It sounds the like two of you really had loads of fun. Here’s to many more days like that one, filled with laughter and love. Cheers.

    • Was it not a warming experience because you were in an air conditioned movie theater? Ha ha ha! (Just kidding!)

      Thanks for the congrats, we had a ton of fun there will be many more days filled with tons of laughter and love for sure!!! Thank you so much!!! 🙂

  3. I LOVE your list especially the part of being lost after leaving the coffee place and someone appreciating a snorting laugh…priceless. I think that most chicas and some dudes look for what you described … being able to fly your geek flag or freak flag and have someone love it. Good post! Sending you good vibes with this new dude 🙂

    • Thank you, thank you, thank you SOOOOO MUCH!!! He is really special, and it is a wonderful feeling being able to be yourself with
      the person you want to spend the rest of your life with!!! Thank you for the positive thoughts and good vibes, it is my wish that everyone else could experience something like what we have!!! From the way it sounds, you too have someone in your life who appreciates your quirks, what is your favorite of theirs, their favorite of yours? 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

