DNA analysis: A secret vision

20130930-211225.jpg

Everyone has something they inherited from their family members. I could break myself down physiologically trait by trait telling you who gave me which feature. I could tell you my eye color proudly displays both parents’ eye color. I could tell you my Grandmother bequeathed to me her cheekbones and nose, which made some people assume she was Greek and myself Jewish. My Grandfather gave me his gift of gab and ability to be burned easily by the sun.

Honestly, I can tell you where every aspect of my personality comes from as well. At least, now I can. Last month I could identify where my over thinking comes from, my wit, my creativity, my ambition, my love of kids. One thing I couldn’t tell you is where my special abilities come from; some would call it a gift.

When I was in the beginning stages of being a teenager my body chemistry went crazy as most teens have happen to them. About a month into my thirteenth year I started having dreams. These dreams started predicting things, mostly things that weren’t serious. One dream entailed a fellow classmate who had moved away and come back, he just happened to be the love interest of one of my best friends. In this dream he was sitting with my friend in choir class and in the dream they had started dating. The next day as I was working on an art project my friend came over and I told her about the dream. We laughed at the prospect of this very thing actually coming true. I even joked and said, “Watch we will go to school tomorrow and he’ll be there.”

The next morning, in first hour choir class my best friend came running into the classroom and whispered very loudly, “You will never guess who I saw in the counselor’s office!” The dream partially came true. Indeed the boy had returned. Needless to say we were both excited and a little freaked out.

After the week stint of predictive dreams my body chemistry must have shut down any abilities I had at predicting things and distracted me with thoughts of boys I LIKED, not ones who were the interest of my friends

Fast forward to the year 2010. It was October and I was on a ghost tour with someone and all of her friends. Unbeknownst to me at the time, you didn’t go messing around with things that shouldn’t be disturbed for personal entertainment. In all honesty, I thought it would be interesting if something contacted me from the other side…but didn’t put a whole lot of faith into it. We were in Alton, Illinois one of the most haunted places in the United States.

On the tour we went into one of the stops on the Underground Railroad. I was already starting to feel alone as I had been somewhat socially separated from the group I came with. We made our way downstairs into a cellar looking facility. At some point I quit listening to the tour guide. The words he was probably used to rattling off every night, bounced off my ears as if they were drums. He turned out the light and suddenly I was paralyzed. A pang in my stomach started happening on my right side. A little voice in my head told me to tell him to turn the light back on as he talked there in the darkness but then another little voice pleadingly told me if I were to say something to him, something bad would surely happen. This inner dialogue happened for the duration of his speech in the Underground Railroad. I couldn’t speak, I couldn’t tell the guide to turn the light back on, yet I knew we were safe and nothing bad would happen because there were plenty of people on the tour crammed in the small space next to me. It was a feeling of horrific dread and despair.

As soon as the guide snapped on the light I made a beeline for the door and slowly started feeling better. It was something inexplicable.

The group then went down toward the church where something similar happened and this time I started smelling cologne and nobody I was standing around was wearing perfume or cologne that smelled anything like what had breezily passed by my nostrils.

What was this? Had I picked up on someone from the other side trying to communicate?

After the tour I had to tell my bestie at work about this story. She then took one look at me and said, “You know why your stomach hurt and you couldn’t talk right?”

I was dreading what she was about to say to my reply, “No?”

“What you were feeling is what the people who were stuck down there were feeling! They couldn’t talk out of fear of getting caught! They were hungry and starving, many people died there!”

Feeling a little relieved that there was some explanation behind this, even if it wasn’t a ghost there is a theory that energy can be trapped even if the person is no longer around. Certain types of rock which this cellar was made of could have possibly trapped the bad energy I was experiencing. If this was the case then, why did I feel something at the church too?

After this experience I kept to myself. Early the next month my great Aunt had passed. About a week or two after her passing I had a frightening dream in which I boarded an elevator only to turn around and see her just as the doors were closing. She plainly said with a sardonic look on her face, “Don’t believe what’s in your dreams kid.” The doors shut, the elevator shook like the cables had been severed and suddenly everyone in the elevator with me was free falling about to crash. In my dream I knew I was going to die so I started praying to God. Just as the elevator hit the ground I woke up, my heart was racing as if I had just outrun Usain Bolt. I literally woke up in a pool of sweat.

What had my Aunt meant by her words? Was it just about the dream or was it about life too? Was it even my Aunt?

A few weeks later, I was standing in the kitchen of the house I used to own. The cat that now belongs to my ex was doing his typical meowing by the door where the cat food was stored. I kept asking him what he wanted while I was preparing food and suddenly a blue orb popped up between me and the refrigerator. At this point having had all the experiences I had, this was the least threatening of them all. I didn’t want to scare whatever it was, however the cat took one look at it, and whatever it was it got scared and flew straight out the window. The cat stared at it the whole way and then went straight back to meowing for food as if nothing happened. I knew I wasn’t nuts because now I knew the cat also saw it.

A few weeks after this my parents had come up for Christmas. My ex was working way past midnight and we were up waiting for him to come home. While we were waiting I finally came clean with my parents. I wanted some explanation. Did they have things like this happen to them?

They sat and listened intently as I told them about the things that had happened to me. My father still was a skeptic due to the fact he hasn’t had any experiences like this. My mother was semi skeptical too but both parents know I wouldn’t make up something like this.

Since that year, other things have happened. Some encounters were wonderful, like knowing my Grandmother was around when I broke the news to my Grandfather and Aunt that I was getting a divorce. After the conversation we were playing a game of Scrabble. I reached in the velvet letter bag not looking at the wooden tiles. A few seconds prior I had been admiring the picture my Grandpa treasured of him and my Grandmother together. Their relationship is something I’ve always wanted and hoped to have myself. As I pulled out the Scrabble letters and placed them on the tray in front of me, suddenly a small wave of comfort and gladness washed over me. My Grandmother’s name was spelled out in scrabble letters right in front of me. I never told my Grandfather for fear of his reaction.

My friend who gave me insight as to why I had the feelings I had in the Underground Railroad unfortunately passed away last year. After she passed, a few months later I had a dream she met me in a train station. Her nature was to be a social chatter box, she could make friends with a brick wall. In the dream we were sitting on old fashioned suitcases and she exhaustively looked at me and said, “I’m having a hard time making friends here.” One of the thoughts passing through my head was thinking she had only been in heaven a few months, like any place it’s going to take a while for people to get to know you. Suddenly I woke up.

When I told her Daughter about the dream, she told me it made sense we met in a train station. We had all read the Harry Potter series. Her Mom always told her she would meet her in a train station just as Harry met Dumbledore. Obviously, the dream, a message in of itself was meant for her Daughter. We deduced maybe the message was delivered through me instead of directly to her because she already had too much on her plate to think about.

The more these dreams and strange encounters happened the more I told my parents about them. I wanted answers. A hunch told me my Mom’s Mother had similar abilities. My Mom tried remembering any instances that were similar to mine and she could only come up with one. We boiled it down to the basic sixth sense that most everyone has, your gut instinct and intuition. We ruled out it was her side of the family even though my Grandmother had a brief encounter with some gypsies as a child who tried to grab her through the door of her home and curse her palm.

I longed to find out who in my family had this ability. There was no way I could be the only one.

One night my parents and I started watching a reality series last month about a woman who happened to be a Medium and had special abilities. She had done her own research and said having a gift like this was hereditary. This caused more frustration for me until suddenly my Dad remembered something. He said my Grandmother used to get visions.

Seeing as I’ve been taking this seriously I looked Dad straight in the eye and asked, “Give me a for-instance.”

He said she had been talking to my Grandfather and asked if he had seen or heard from a specific friend. My grandpa replied, “Dot, he’s been dead for years.” It turned out she had been dreaming and the friend had visited her in the dream.

FINALLY an answer to my genetic conundrum.

My Dad further explained he used to sit and have quiet breakfasts with my Grandmother when he was younger where she confessed to having visions and dreams, not knowing what to do with them or how to make them stop.

I dug further into my Grandma’s history. I know on Dad’s side of the family we are part Native American. I asked Dad what nationality we are specifically on his side of the family. He said, “Choctaw.”

Later that night I researched the Choctaw community, where they’re from and some not so well known facts about their practices. I found out there were indeed a small group of people within the Choctaw nation called The Turkey Buzzard Cult. They were people, if my research is correct, who shared this gift and were often healers and great teachers. Granted my direct ancestral line may not come from this specialized group of people, but we do share DNA.

Because my ability is something I was unsure of, I didn’t know how it fit into my faith. My family has raised me as a Christian and ultimately the place I grew up nurtured me into this faith as well. One of the Choctaw websites explained most Choctaw people are themselves Christian in addition to their Native American beliefs. It is no secret there have been people throughout history who have had visions like mine, some were shut down, some were burned at the stake, some were told to keep quiet, and some celebrated it like my ancestors. This made me feel relieved and if anything unafraid to admit to having this genetic gift anymore.

Ultimately I posed the question to some new friends at work, is it a gift or a curse what I have? My friends decided instinctively and assuredly it was a gift certainly given to me by my grandmother.

20130930-211247.jpgThese people are possibly some of my relatives.

What trait do you have that has always confused you? Did you ever figure out where it came from?

9 thoughts on “DNA analysis: A secret vision

  1. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: DNA Analysis | 3rdculturechildren

  2. Before I comment on this article, I shall describe what kind of person the commenter is πŸ™‚ to put things into perspective. My upbringing was predominantly scientific, and, working passionately in the software development field for countless years, I consider myself being very logical and analytical.

    Having said all of the above, I am always intrigued by articles like yours, Quirky Girl, as well as TV documentaries with similar topics. Yes, these stories conflict with my core beliefs, and by right I should dismiss them as nonsense. But… what if one does experience certain things that cannot be readily explained scientifically?

    Every now and then I do have the kind of visions you talk about, mostly measured in minutes or hours before the actual event. To stay in line with my scientific beliefs, I should all interprete these as coincidences, and that’s maybe what they simply are. But it’s just too weird sometimes to attribute it to coincidence. E.g. few weeks ago a particular movie scene, I had watched ages ago, came to my mind out of nowhere – without anything that could have triggered the memory of the movie or even its topic. I had not thought about this movie in a very long time. Hours later, I switched on the TV – there it was! Coincidence.

    Another example, how does my mom suddenly sqeeze herself into my thoughts (entirely unrelated of what I was thinking about) and minutes later the phone rings and it’s her? Side note – she lives almost 10,000km away from me. And this has happened like hundreds of times before. Coincidences.

    My scientific attempt of explaining, especially the latter story, is as follows. Let’s say.. a couple of centuries ago: What did scientists (alchemists?) really know about all kinds of energy that we today know in detail and are able to measure? Majority of people back then were trying to find any type of explanation for strange phenomenons – maybe a ghost involved, or maybe the doing of God. But when we look back today, we know they just had not discovered those energy forms yet. That doesn’t mean they didn’t exist during those days. So, learning from history, how can anyone assume today that we have already discovered all there is? Isn’t it a little arrogant? Even Einstein, a scientific genius, talked about “spooky action at a distance” when referring to some phenomenons in quantum mechanics (which physicists still have not truly figured out as I write this).

    So, in my current opinion, there are probably energy forms that we have not discovered yet which would explain a lot of so-known “paranormal” phenomenons once we do. Disclaimer: I am still a big sceptic of most paranormal reports. Surely, 90% or more of those have an alternative, but unfortunately less exciting, explanation. People like excitement. πŸ™‚

    Quirky Girl, I have to confess, I just cannot wrap my mind about the orb story (and as your parents, I do not say you are making it up). I guess I must see such thing with my own eyes to dig it. πŸ™‚

    • First off I just want to say how much I appreciate your response and time on this subject which can be touchy with most. The fact that you are even entertaining the thought of accepting something which can not be scientifically explained is moving.

      Sometimes things can be mere coincidence as you pointed out. However, I have heard and read at some point in time that sometimes if many people are thinking of something at the same time or if they are sending out the same prayers or thoughts…it has been said people will experience something from it or have a shared thought or experience even if they are no where near that person. Maybe when you witnessed the movie scene in your mind maybe you were picking up on others who were just as excited who knew ahead of time the movie was going to be played? Again this is just a theory, and it could be chalked up to coincidence, however again I can not rule out the mindset of multiples working together putting out a thought.

      The same goes for your mother. A co-worker told me once that we are all connected. As soon as we have a shared experience…we are connected. Do you have the same thing happening with you when you are thinking of a friend or a loved one and suddenly they call or text? I find your situation you described not only happens with myself and my mother, but other family members and friends as well.

      The part where you write about Scientists not having fully discovered everything yet, every form of energy; fascinates me. Especially with someone like Einstein not being able to fully explain some of the things he was witnessing. From your perspective, what specifically do you think they were possibly witnessing? I am in total agreement with you, as a true scientist, you can truly not rule out anything until it has been proven. How many times have scientists thought they have discovered everything about a subject only to crack something else open and discover there is more? (I.e. the atom?)

      People do like excitement, I agree with you. There are those who claim to have seen or done things only for sensationalism or for attention. In the end, these people will be found out to be frauds sadly, thus giving those who have experienced something a bad reputation.

      Like you, I can not wrap my head around the orb as well. Even having experienced it myself, it still befuddles me. Maybe at some point and time, if you find yourself in the states, you could go to some of these places that are reportedly haunted? If you go to a site near us, my husband and I will go with you! The best thing to do is go in with an open mind…which after having read your statement, you seem like someone who hasn’t completely shut the door.:)

      I’ve never been one for taking the easy road, not on purpose, but it just happens that way. When I was younger it was easy to dismiss things as hokum or coincidence…but inevitably when too many things happen they can no longer be dismissed.

      If you do decide to visit the states, I can recommend some sites to you! πŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: DNA Analysis | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. How interesting! I wish I had things like that happen to me, but I never have. I think I do have a bit of a knack for bonding with animals, and my dad has the same thing. It’s nothing extraordinary, though, animals just tend to like me!

  5. Pingback: Bipolar Disorder | A mom's blog

  6. Pingback: For the Love of Literature | Ramisa the Authoress

  7. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge – DNA Analysis | Joe's Musings

  8. That’s a nice alternative explanation for the movie scene experience. It seems more plausible than an actual “vision”.

    To answer your question regarding the phone incidences, yes happened with friends too, usually close ones.

    Oh, the quantum mechanics question.. am the wrong person to ask when it comes to details. Am anything but a theoretical physicist. I can only loosely describe the “quantum entanglement” (what this is about) as having two particles (e.g. electrons) entangled (however they achieve that). If you then change the state of one of them, it instantaneously causes a change of state for the other, even though they might be miles apart. And this violates Einstein’s theory that nothing is faster than the speed of light, which in turn freaks out scientists.

    You wanna send me to haunted places? Ermm, my time would probably be limited if I decided to come over to the States. So, let’s sit in some cafe instead and have a chat. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

