Oh boogers…

As you all know last year I embarked on the journey of teaching.  Last year it was substitute teaching, this year I’m a paraprofessional.

When you’re a substitute you only see little vignettes of what the students are like.  I imagine it is the same from their perspective seeing as one 6 year old student would frequently say,” Mrs…what’s your name?” everytime I saw him at his school.

Some students would say funny things like, “You look like that girl from Scooby-Doo”.

“I don’t know if that is a good thing or a bad thing.”

To which the student said, “It’s a good thing, that is like saying I look like a Barbie doll.”
image

(Yes, because we all know Velma from Scooby Doo looks like a tall blonde runway model who has it all figured out.)

Some students have even gone as far to say they are allergic to my shirt because it has flowers on it. Needless to say, there are some funny conversations that are way too long to post on here.  All the surface conversations I had as a substitute teacher with students were just vague glimpses into who the kids were and their first impressions of me.  Now that I am a paraprofessional, not only do I get to know the students in more than just a 3 hour period, but they also get to know my core essence, my humor.

A few weeks ago a new student surprised me.  You see, I help out in the classroom and teach/coach 9th grade Algebra and American History.  We were at our normal table and I was getting to know this student while they were working on their History vocabulary for that week.  Suddenly she looked at me and said, “You look like one of those people that gets in their car and just rocks out and sings along with the music.”  Dumbfounded, I didn’t know how she knew I dance and sing in my car like James Corden and Jennifer Hudson.
image

Mouth agape I said, “Yes, how did you know?”  The student just shrugged their shoulders and went back to work.

A few weeks later the student remembered the conversation.  Now she felt more comfortable in front of everyone, including the on-site math teacher.  Before the teacher could launch into his curriculum the student shouted out, “Mrs. Quirky rocks out in her car.”  The teacher kind of gave the student a funny look.  When the student didn’t get the reaction they wanted they added, “she also picks her nose.”

He said, “Well, I’m sure even if she does pick her nose she doesn’t do it in public.”

“No, she has a booger on each (fore) finger and dances with them in the air!”

image

I was still in shock from how the student knew that I car-danced, but how she knew about the boogers I will never know.

How has someone you just met surprised you with something about yourself that  you’ve never thought to tell anyone?

3 thoughts on “Oh boogers…

  1. Very interesting post. Last year, I was seated with fellow university students in the staff room (unlike yourself, I was a teacher candidate at the time, and we were developing lesson plans). We had only recently met, and had only spoken a few times over lunch breaks, when one of them asks ‘you like Asian girls – got any tips?’ I had never admitted such a thing to him – I still don’t know how he found out…

    • Did you ever make any comments around him? Maybe about a former girlfriend? Did you make any certain cultural references? Do you think he took a wild guess to see what your reply would be? Hmmm…this IS befuddling!!! 😛

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

